Christian (A Pantoum)

His beauty astounds me

Rugged male, yet tender and passion-filled

Standing beside him, I now look up, his face to see

Transitioning into manhood, for a time he needs me still

 

Fifteen years old, from birth his heart with passion was filled

His distinctive expressions compounding every day

Becoming a man, please need me still

Smiling, he flashes the peace sign as I drive away

 

Fresh expressions, revealing more of his heart each new day

His long curls spilling onto his shoulders and surrounding his energetic grin

I smile as he flashes the peace sign and force myself to drive away

And I grieve, knowing that I can’t hold his hand and usher him in

 

Curly locks that dance with his laughter and raucous grin

He knows that soon the blessings of maturity will be his

Grieving, knowing that I can’t hold his hand and usher him in

Instead, blessedly, assuredly, letting go, trusting what he will become and the man he already is

 

Standing beside him, I now look up his face to see

And his beauty astounds me

Leave a Reply

