Meet Willoughby James (Chic Southern Poodle)

(Disclaimer – Though I am very proud of the silver-haired pet in this post, I feel that I should assure my readers that I am not one of those people who will dress up her dog in costumes and share pictures of it with everyone.  I promise.  That’s just not my style.  Besides, he wouldn’t let me.)

 

Willoughby James is my two-year old Poodle.  You’re probably wondering what prompted the unusual name and I’m more than happy to share that information with you.  I enjoy Tennessee Williams plays and I wanted my Poodle to have a name fit for a fine southern gentleman; therefore, Willoughby James.  It suits him, indeed.

He’s very smart and answers to a collection of names.  Dubya (“W”) and Poodell are two of my personal favorites.  I don’t know what your preferred breed of dog is or if you even care for dogs, but Poodles are tops for me.  I will admit that almost any creature with fur can melt my heart, but there is something about these super-intelligent dogs and their unique I own the place attitudes that captivates me. 

He has the usual favorite Poodle pastimes and as you can see from the above picture (and those below) one of them is napping.  Willoughby has the art form perfected.  

 

This was Willoughby’s first Thanksgiving Feast nap.  He was worn out after all the celebrating.  He’s a silver Poodle, so he had jet black hair when he was a puppy.  When he still had the black, hair all over his body and the silver face, I was always amused with how much he looked like Thing 1 or Thing 2 from the Dr. Seuss classic, The Cat in the Hat.

 

He often weaves his four legs together when he sleeps. 

I hope you’ve enjoyed meeting my Dubya.  Leave a comment and tell me about your favorite pet.

 

Leave a comment